I’ll Always Hold Your Hand

There are moments when the reason you became a mom are so crystal clear. Little moments that show you that you are doing something right. 

Today the twins were doing an art project for school when all of of sudden Skylar asked if one day she could go skydiving. I haven’t a clue where she learned about skydiving but since it is at least 13 years before she can go…I said yes. Immediately Rylan asked her what skydiving was and I listened as Skylar explained.

“Won’t you be scared?” ask Rylan when she found out you’d had to jump from a plane.

“No way…it would be cool. You can jump from a plane and fly.” Skylar explained patiently.

“Would you go with me?” Rylan wanted to know.

“Yes, I’ll always hold your hand.” was her sister’s reply.

My heart stopped as I heard those words. It was such a sincere, sweet, pure statement. It made me think how much everyone needs someone to hold their hand. 

I don’t know what trials and joys await my daughters as they grow.  I don’t know what boy will break their heart before they find the “one” who becomes their husbands. I don’t know if friends will hurt them or people will be jealous of them…so much I don’t know. 

But…I know that God knows and loves them intimately. He has plans, dreams and blessings for them that I can only pray for and….they will always have someone to hold their hand.

The mere thought of them having that kind of closeness makes me want to cry in thanks for the Lord’s amazing blessing of giving us twins. 

 

p9220018_1

 

“I’ll always hold your hand

No matter where we go…

As we  face the world

we’ll take it step by step…very slow.

‘Cause the worlds a big place

and a little girl like me 

needs a friend to walk beside her

as we head out on this journey

I’ll always hold your hand 

no matter where we go…”

The IE Mommy
Christine 

 

~ by iemommy on February 22, 2009.

9 Responses to “I’ll Always Hold Your Hand”

  1. That is just precious! It always makes me so happy when I see love expressed between my girls. It makes up for all those “arrrgh” moments, doesn’t it? Your girls are so adorable!

  2. Such a sweet post — they are just adorable! 🙂

    So glad you stopped by Magic Marker Monday last week and I hope I get to see some of your little artists’ work very soon!

    ~Michelle @ 5MFSN

    • HI Michelle,
      I think the Magic Marker Monday is a great idea. I want to post a blog and picture today but my computer is acting up!
      Thanks for stopping by….hope you come back soon!

  3. That was such a sweet story 🙂 You should totally frame the poem you wrote and hang it in their room (to remind them on days they don’t get along as great).

  4. Thanks so much for adding me to your blog roll!

  5. What did you expect? You’re an AWESOME Mom! 🙂
    I love you!

Comments are closed.

 
