What Sound does “a t” Make?

 Home school has been a challenge for me. I am sure that is how many first time  home schoolers feel. Sometimes you wish there was a big rock to knock your head against instead of teaching school other times you are floating on Cloud 9 at what your children are learning.

Today was one of those “rock and head” days. The twins are in kindergarten and are learning to read by Phonics. For whatever reason they are having a hard time grasping sounds of two letters together (ie. “an”, “og”, “un”, etc).

They have the sounds for each letter of the alphabet down pat. They can even recognize site words but blend sounds are just stumping them and me.

In class we were going over the blend sound for the combination “a t”. I was showing the girls different words that end in “at”. Words like cat, fat, hat. They were doing great at first. Totally catching on to the fact that “at” always sounded the same and that the first letter was the only thing changing.

Then…something happened and I started getting answers like “tiger” when I showed them the word “mat”.  Sometimes, I am not sure what they are hearing because their answers are so bizarre.

I asked Skylar… “What sounds does “a t” make?”

“tttt”  (as in tiger) was her reply.

No, Skylar… “what sounds does does “a t” make?”

“tttt” (again as the sound of t in tiger) she said.

I repeated this question about three more times getting more and more frustrated as the same answer was given.  Finally, I threw up a quick prayer asking God to help me see what I was doing wrong. “LIGHT BULB” Skylar was hearing me say “What is the sound of a “t”?”  not “What is the sound of “a t”?

When it dawned on me what she was hearing versus what I “thought” I was asking. I laughed and laughed…till my children thought I was crazy (well, maybe they thought that already?). Thank the Lord for showing me what I was doing wrong!

“Skylar” I asked “What is the sound of “a” and “t” together?”

“at” mama….like cat, hat, fat and mat – was her reply. 

Where is a good rock when you need one? 

 

title

~ by iemommy on February 23, 2009.

7 Responses to “What Sound does “a t” Make?”

  1. […] What Sound does “a t” Make? « The IE Mommy […]

  2. My mom says she learns more every year she home schools 🙂 I was home schooled from kindergarten-high school and plan on home schooling my two boys. I think it’s awesome you are home schooling your girls!
    Love the picture at the end of your post. I actually know the two kids in it – they are both in college now 🙂

    • Courtney..that’s too funny about the kids in the photo. 🙂 Awesome to hear they are in college. I happy to be able to homeschool my girls but there are days I really want to run for the hills, lol 🙂 Glad to hear that you are a success story from home school. There are a lot out there but it is always encouraging to know more 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. Sounds like you are doing really well with the girls and yes, I know how you feel somedays! I’m an “graduated” homeschool mom so that is behind me now. Instead, I write for the homeschool community. I thought you might be interested in a link to my Web site on teaching reading: http://www.oklahomahomeschool.com/reading.html

    Maybe something on there will be helpful. You might also want to check out my How Do I Teach . . . ? blog: http://howdoiteach.blogspot.com/

    Have a blessed day! Cindy

    • Hi Cindy, I can only pray and hope that I am doing well. My girls are very smart and very articulate but they lose attention very quickly so it makes for a challenge. They absolutely adore books so I thought reading and sounds would be the easiest thing but so far it has been the hardest. Thanks for the tips on the website…I will most definitely check them out. Thanks for stopping by…I hope you visit again soon!

  4. Oh my gosh Christine that is so funny! I have had many similar moments. We are using, “Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons” and that is going pretty well for us.

    • Hey Joanna,
      When I see you next time bring that book…I’d like to check it out, if I could. Glad I could give you a chuckle…. 🙂
      Have a great one!

Comments are closed.

 
