I Just Want To Touch the Water

My niece and I spent a wonderful weekend recently at a women’s retreat with our church. We had some quiet time on Saturday where we could do whatever we pleased. Nothing was scheduled for us. Teaching wasn’t held at this time…it was just our time to play at the beach, go shopping, take a nap, read our bible or a regular book…whatever we wanted to do. This was our time. As most moms know…that is a rare commodity. 

Since I don’t get the chance to be alone very often…I chose to go shopping. Not very spiritual, I know, but c’mon I needed some jeans! Anyone who has ever tried clothes on with children knows exactly what I am talking about!

My niece on the other hand wanted to relax and meditate on what she had learned so far from the weekend. She decided to go to the beach. It was a bit overcast that day and too cold to go in the water so she sat on the sand.

She retold the story as such:

“I was sitting there…thinking about God and His will for my life. I looked at the water and really wanted to touch it. I didn’t want to get wet because it was cold but I wanted to touch the water. So, I walked to the edge and reached for the foam of the water but it either rushed at me too fast or receded too quickly. I was like a little kid playing tag with the ocean. All the time I kept thinking “I want to touch the water, Lord”.  

Quietly a wave rolled in and hit the sand in such a way that a mist of water sprayed up and “touched” me. It was refreshing and all that I wanted. 

At that moment it hit me….how many times do “I” feel the desire to touch you Lord…when all along what I need is for “YOU” to touch me?”

Her story stayed with me all weekend. It made me think how beautiful, wonderful, gentle, powerful and perfect is His touch. We think “we” need to touch Him when He is saying “Be Still and Know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10). “I” want to touch you.

~ by iemommy on March 19, 2009.

3 Responses to “I Just Want To Touch the Water”

  1. so sweet, thanks for sharing : )

  2. Amen. Thank you for this gentle reminder. May we long for His touch.

  3. That just touched my heart! Thanks for putting a smile on my face and some faith in my heart today!

Comments are closed.

 
