You Can’t “wing” Jesus!

Have you ever had the feeling that you disappointed the Lord? I know the verses that tell of His forgiveness, His love and His grace. But sometimes, you get a feeling that comes from your own heart and soul telling you that you didn’t do all that you could.

Philippians 4:13 (NASB)

I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I realize that the Lord, God doesn’t “need” me to fulfill His purpose and will but He is gracious enough to use us…and sometimes we just aren’t listening or willing.

Ephesians 3:18 & 20 (NLT)

18 And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. 

20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.

This past year I have had the honor and pleasure to teach at our Women’s bible study. It is not an honor I take lightly. I feel it is a great privilege and responsibility to teach the word of God.

1 Timothy 4:16 (NLT)
Keep a close watch on how you live and on your teaching. Stay true to what is right for the sake of your own salvation and the salvation of those who hear you.

Romans 12:8 (NLT)
If your gift is to encourage others, be encouraging. If it is giving, give generously. If God has given you leadership ability, take the responsibility seriously. And if you have a gift for showing kindness to others, do it gladly.

But this week, I wasn’t ready. The fault didn’t belong to anyone but me. I had ample time but for one reason or another….it didn’t come together. There I was on Wednesday…hoping and praying that somehow I was going to “wing” it.

Well, you just don’t “wing” Jesus. I can “wing” an impromptu speech probably just about anything…but not that and not that night.  I had my points listed…but they were not as thought out as they could have been. The most important thing I missed that night was stopping and praying…earnestly praying that He would be the one speaking.

The talk was o.k.. I am sure that the audience received something from the teaching because God promises His words will not return void. But I knew, in my heart of  hearts, I had not allowed myself to be prepared.

Isaiah 55:11 (NASB)

11So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth;
It will not return to Me empty,
Without accomplishing what I desire,
And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it.

I was disappointed in myself that night. Grateful that we have a Lord that is forgiving and understanding. But my heart was still heavy.

After some quiet time with Lord, I was able to say “Ok, Lord…lesson learned. I will never try to “wing” it again! I’m sorry”

I am grateful that he has humbled me and now according to his word that He will lift me up as wings of an Eagle (Isaiah 40:31).  No, I can’t “wing” it but I can definitely find shelter beneath His wings.

Psalm 91:4 (NLT)

He will cover you with his feathers.
He will shelter you with his wings.
His faithful promises are your armor and protection.

eagleflying


*NASB – New American Standard
*NLT – New Living Translation

~ by iemommy on April 19, 2009.

One Response to “You Can’t “wing” Jesus!”

  1. We can always go to him for a great talk and he will forgive and love us. Yes there are times that I know that I did not choose to do the right thing and that is when we need to take it to him

Comments are closed.

 
