Spotlight on “The Mother-in-Law’s” Manual (Giveaway)

A LITTLE ABOUT THE MOTHER IN LAW’S MANUAL:

41Dfr1WvkeL._SS500_OK, be honest, did any of you wince at this subject? Perhaps you have a strained relationship with your mother-in-law; or, you are a mother-in-law who wonders why there seems to be friction between you and your married children.

The Mother-in-Law Manual: Proven Strategies for Creating Healthy Relationships With Married Children by Susan Lieberman is about mothers-in-law and for mothers-in-law, but it’s also for anyone else who wants to better understand the mother-in-law dynamic.  We’d love to have some bloggers review this book to see if the advice can help them, or someone they know. The Manual covers some important topics, such as:

  • Seven mother-in-law maxims to guide good relationships
  • Ways to approach children when mothers-in-law think they may be making a marital mistake
  • How to think about grand parenting
  • What mothers-in-law might consider about their own aging
  • An overview of type and temperament to help explain the differences among family members that can seem purposefully irritating when they are hard-wired personality differences
  • Reflections from sons-in-law and daughters-in–law


About the author: Susan Abel Lieberman currently lives in Houston and works as an
Lieberman executive coach. From 1998-2006, she was the Director of Leadership Rice at Rice University, a program to develop the leadership capacities of undergraduates. She also taught Leadership Rice for Professionals in the Glasscock School of Continuing Education. Susan holds a Ph.D. in public affairs from the University of Pittsburgh and a Masters of City Planning degree from the University of California at Berkeley. Visit www.motherinlawsmanual.com.

divider3


IE MOMMY SAYS:

I am blessed. I have a good Mother in Law. But we have all heard the horror stories of  “those” types of Moms. Ones that do not know how to let their son or daughter be married. That consistently want to run their child’s household, always have an opinion or always need help because life is ending RIGHT NOW! Sadly, I have seen those types of mother-in-laws within my circle of family and friends. In fact, as I write this…I have a couple of people in mind. But I like “to live” so I will not mention names, lol.

I was intrigued with the topic and the concept. One day I will be a Mother In Law and I would like to be one that will know my limitations, my expectations and be welcomed. I don’t want to be a MIL where the son-in-law cringes when he sees me at the door. I want my sons in law to call me “mom” with love and not “Mrs.” or “Christine”.

With chapter titles like: “When Our Babies Raise Babies” and “Making Sense of Annoying Behaviours”…the author, Susan Abel Lieberman…reaches into the psyche of a mom and how she transitions from a M-O-M to M-I-L.

I will lend this book out to my family and friends but it will be a staple in my bookshelf because while it is years away…I am confident one day I too, will be a Mother in Law.

divider3

GIVEAWAY:

ONE (1) Lucky IE Mommy readers will Win a copy of The Mother-In-Laws Manual

41Dfr1WvkeL._SS500_
Contest ends MIDNIGHT (PST) – June 8th.
Winner will be randomly chosen and announced on June 9th
Contest Open to U.S. Residents Only at this time.

divider3

HOW TO ENTER:

  • TO ENTER :
    • Visit The Mother In Law’s Manual Blog and join the newsletter = ONE ENTRY
      *These 2 entries are mandatory, if it is not followed then all other entries will be disqualified. You must have the correct answer for the # of kits.
  • EXTRA ENTRIES:
    • Post my button (html on rt.side bar) to your site = ONE ENTRY
    • Subscribe & Follow my blog via email =ONE ENTRY
    • Favorite me on Technorati (bottom rt.sidebar) = ONE ENTRY
    • Leave a comment on this POST HERE at THE MIL Manual Blog. Tell them the IE Mommy sent ya = TWO ENTRIES
    • Follow me on Twitter and Tweet about this giveaway-www.twitter.com/iemommy Remember to include @iemommy in order for it to count = TWO ENTRIES
    • Tell me one chapter title within the book = ONE ENTRY
  • Remember YOU MUST leave a comment for each step…in order to be eligible for the entries.

The IE Mommy is always looking for products, companies and sites to review. If you have or know of a company, product or site that could use an IE Mommy review. Email me at theiemommy (at) gmail (dot) com.

**Information obtained from the Mother-in-law/Sue Abel Lieberman Press Info & Website**

~ by iemommy on May 30, 2009.

17 Responses to “Spotlight on “The Mother-in-Law’s” Manual (Giveaway)”

  1. i signed up for the newsletter. i really need this BAD> my MIL and I have a very toxis relationship

  2. i have your button

  3. i subscribe here

  4. im erinsm on technorati and i have you faved

  5. iposted a comment at their blog

  6. entry two for commenting on their blog

  7. chapter one is “dr spock i still need you”

  8. tweet

  9. entry two for tweeting

  10. […] Click Here to Enter […]

  11. […] https://iemommy.wordpress.com/2009/05/30/spotlight-on-the-mother-in-laws-manual-giveaway/ […]

  12. I could really use this book 😉 and yes, I did wince!

    I subscribed to the newsletter: MelissaLN@verizon.net

  13. I have signed up for the Mother In Laws Manuals Newsletter.Please include me in your giveaway.
    Thanks
    Carlene
    Iluvreading(at)verizon.net

  14. I am a subscriber in google reader. Please include me in your giveaway.
    Thanks
    Carlene
    Iluvreading(at)verizon.net

  15. One chapter that catches my eye is Fixing a Mess. Please include me in your giveaway.
    Thanks
    Carlene
    Iluvreading(at)verizon.net

  16. I left a comment letting them know that you sent me. Please include me in your giveaway.
    Thanks
    Carlene
    Iluvreading(at)verizon.net

  17. […] Proven Strategies for Creating Healthy Relationships With Married Children, by Susan Lieberman, at The IE Mommy (ends June 8, US […]

Comments are closed.

 
