Umbrellas

60inUmbrella

I know it is summer and it is supposed to be hot. But it is freezing cold and raining here! Which made me think of umbrellas, which made me think of my little ones and their itty bitty umbrellas which made me think about writing this post about the epiphany I had one day while cleaning my car…all about umbrellas. It is a very simple winter tip: “Buy your child their own umbrella!

I just have to share my little pearl of wisdom (hey, c’mon now it doesn’t happen very often…indulge me ‘k?)

You see…

I was cleaning out my car and found Rylan & Skylar’s little umbrellas and remembered why I bought them.

A couple of years back, we were rushing to the store to get some milk and it was raining.

I had a “HUGE” golf style umbrella. I thought I had us covered and secure, safe from the rain…until I got to the store and the little ones were wet!

You see, as most parents do, we hold them up at our height…but exactly how tall are your children? At that time, my girls were right about my thigh.

I learned a lesson that day. I had kept myself dry but not my little ones. It broke my heart. During the winter months I see moms do this all the time.  They hold the umbrella high and their little ones are all scrunched face and squinting as they are hit by the rain.

It is a bit of a pain in the butt to deal with two or three umbrellas. Having to choose between an inconvenience and sick kids…well, guess what wins?

Anyway…that’s it. That’s all I got.  I know I am talking about umbrellas and it is summer and the weather is C-R-A-Z-Y…but if you remember this…you’ll thank me in the winter or if you live in California…maybe later this weekend.

I would offer to look for other bits of “wisdom” and  “treasures” to share in my car but somehow I don’t think petrified French fries offer much as inspiration.

~ by iemommy on June 12, 2009.

 
