Spotlight on “Chiquita Smoothie” (Review)

chiquita

divider3

I was recently contacted to review Chiquita Smoothies. It sounded like a great idea img_internal_header_5because I remember the “Chiquita” name from when I was a little girl. I remember fighting my siblings for the Chiquita sticker….whoever was the lucky person to get the banana with the sticker was well….just the greatest kid in the house! From the household name alone I knew that this was going to be a fun review.

Whoa! I had no idea what was in store for me and my family. We get boxes delivered to our home quite often. Whether for reviews, my husband’s business or home school stuff…deliveries are common. But I was very surprised one afternoon when a huge box arrived at our home. Inside the box were eight yummy cans of Chiquita Smoothies, an Oster Fusion Blender, a smoothie/milkshake attachment, little cups, spoons and even napkins. We were set for a Smoothie Party!!

img_chiquita_banana_coladaThe twins were jumping up and down begging for a smoothie. Their requests grew louder and louder as I pulled out Strawberry Banana, Peach Mango, Mixed Berry and Pina Colada. I wanted to wait till my husband got home to share our yummy smoothies but img_chiquita_mixed_berrywe just could not…so we started our Smoothie Party with yummy Mixed Berry.

The process could not have been easier…we love smoothies and now with the Chiquita Smoothies we can become as creative as we want with these yummy img_chiquita_peach_mangotreats.  Each 12oz can makes three eight-ounce smoothies when blended with ice and water. You literally just blend and serve!**

With 100% Vitamin C Chiquita frozen fruit smoothies are an all-natural and img_chiquita_straw_bananadelicious way to get in a whole serving of fruit.**   When you visit the Chiquita Smoothie website you will find scrumptious recipes.

Check out two of my favorites:

Strawberry Banana Cheesecake Smoothie

  • 1 can Strawberry Banana Chiquita™ Smoothie
  • 2 cans of ice
  • 1 cup milk
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup strawberry yogurt
  • 3/4 cup Graham cracker crumbs (optional)
  • Put all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth! Garnish with extra graham cracker crumbs, if desired.

Chocolate Covered Banana Smoothie

  • 1 can Banana Colada Chiquita™ Smoothie
  • 1/3 cup chocolate syrup
  • 1 cup whipped cream
  • Put all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth!

I love the diversity in the flavors because each of the members of my family had a favorite. The twins loved the Strawberry Banana especially when I added fresh bananas and made Chiquita Smoothie Popsicles out of the left over smoothie. My husband liked the tart taste of the Mixed Berry but the Peach Mango was his favorite. My favorite was the the Banana Colada…beyond Yummy!

Chiquita_Logo_HR With over 25 recipes (you can even submit new recipes), a $1.00 Off coupon, a Free T-shirt promotion and a “make your own smoothie” game the Chiquita Smoothie website has a lot of interactive features. Chiquita Smoothies are a treat that you will feel confident serving to your family. Backed by the Chiquita name you know you are tasting quality.

Chiquita has been a leader in supplying healthy foods to the world for over 100 years. And now the Chiquita label appears on a large variety of fruits, vegetables and smoothies.  With Chiquita, it will be a lot easier to turn a yummy treat into a healthier you**

divider3

twitter1

The IE Mommy is always looking for products, companies and sites to review. If you have or know of a company, product or site that could use an IE Mommy review. Email me at theiemommy (at) gmail (dot) com.

**Information obtained from the Chiquita Smoothie  Press Kit and/or Website.

~ by iemommy on June 14, 2009.

 
