Quotable Sunday – “DAD”

Happy Father’s Day!

divider3

Fatherhood is pretending the present you love most is soap-on-a-rope.
~Bill Cosby

A father is always making his baby into a little woman.  And when she is a woman he turns her back again.
~Enid Bagnold


It is not flesh and blood but the heart which makes us fathers and sons.
~Johann Schiller

A father carries pictures where his money used to be.
~Author Unknown

When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around.  But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished at how much he had learned in seven years.
~Mark Twain, “Old Times on the Mississippi” Atlantic Monthly, 1874


Old as she was, she still missed her daddy sometimes.
~Gloria Naylor

*This one especially speaks to me today as my dad is no longer with me but with God, my heavenly Father.


Never raise your hand to your kids.  It leaves your groin unprotected.
~Red Buttons

~ by iemommy on June 21, 2009.

10 Responses to “Quotable Sunday – “DAD””

  1. Great quote choices! My favorite is:

    When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished at how much he had learned in seven years.
    ~Mark Twain

    Hope you enjoy your Sunday – ((HUGZ!))

  2. Beautiful quotes. Several I almost used and some I did. And no matter how old we are, we do miss our dads.

  3. great quotes.

  4. I love all your quotes! Have a great day

  5. I love the one by ~Gloria Naylor too. I also lost my father, about a year ago, trying to focus on my hubby today helps.
    Thanks for all the wonderful quotes!

  6. Oh my, we’ve given soap on a rope a few times LOL.

  7. Loved your quotes

  8. Never raise your hand to your kids. It leaves your groin unprotected.
    ~Red Buttons

    Hahahah! That’s very good advice!

  9. The Enid & Gloria quotes brought tears to my eyes. I still have my dad (thank God) but I know he won’t be here forever so make sure I cherish each moment with him

  10. Never raise your hand to your kids. It leaves your groin unprotected.
    ~Red Buttons
    That’s AWESOME!!!!

Comments are closed.

 
