Spotlight on “Stop Staring” (Review)

logoc

divider3

A LITTLE ABOUT ALICIA ESTRADA:

At Stop Staring! we are committed to creating original vintage inspired dresses and RTW, that empowers women by embracing and celebrating their female form. 7

Established in 1997, Stop Staring! is the leader of original retro chic dresses and separates that flatter the figure and cater to a woman’s independent spirit with timeless and classic styles at consistently affordable prices.

Alicia Estrada, head designer and founder of the Stop Staring! collection, started sewing at the age of seventeen. With a house full of 3 brothers and 6 sisters, Alicia quickly forayed her hobby into a thriving business! In 2005, the Mayor of Los Angeles, Antonio Villaraigos, awarded Stop Staring! “Minority Manufacturing Firm of the Year”

Today, Alicia’s love of all things vintage plays a key role in her design process. She continually incorporates the details of yesteryear into her beautiful and flattering retro-contemporary dresses and separates.**

Today, Stop Staring! is sold in 1000s of boutiques all over the world, and has been featured in a countless number of Fashion Magazines* such as:

Our dresses have been worn by a countless number of Celebrity A-listers*, such as:

*For full list of celebrities click “here”. *For full list of magazines click “here”.

divider3

WHAT DOES THE IE MOMMY THINK?:

detail_292_paris_blwer_250I am floored. I know that as a blogger we are supposed to have  “a lot” to say…and I DO! But I don’t even know where to begin.

Stop Staring has been an A+ company since the moment I met them. I was privileged to be able to interact with the designer, Alicia Estrada.  May I say she is a very sweet person as well as very beautiful (see photo above).

Stop Staring is the “hot shop” for celebrities…with an incredible list of movie stars and actors  it has become “the” site to shop for beautiful, exquisitely  designed, retro and vintage style clothing.

I spent a long time looking at the dresses. Each was so beautifully detailed and elegantly executed. I have always loved the look of vintage and retro. It takes me back to the Rockabilly days of the 80’s (Stray Cats anyone?) and even further to the elegance, class and sophistication of the Starlets of the 50’s. Remember the sultriness of Rita Hayworth, Lana Turner and Elizabeth Taylor? In my opinion, that was definitely the Golden Era of movies. I grew up watching those shows and being mesmerized at the beautiful costumes and outfits.detail_166_glmwp_rdwd_250

Stop Staring takes us back in time when elegance was a mainstay, Fashion was extraordinary and sex appeal was subtle!

I was delighted to see that they carried a plus size section and hoped, just hoped that I would be able to find a dress that I loved and that fit.  Many times stylish, fashionable companies forget women with curvaceous figures…not Stop Staring.  There were many, many different styles that fit a curvy figure! Hallelujah!

When I received the Paris Black with Pink Flower I literally squealed. My goodness! This dress is beautiful! I mean b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l! The details are perfect. A petite, feminine pink embroidered rose is perfectly placed on the upper right shoulder. The pink is contrasting and striking against the rich black. The belt adds a wonderful accent of pink to the buckle. I ran sprinted up my stairs to try this dress on…I was in love!

I was scared that I would be too short or too chubby to wear this style again, but the recent changes in my eating habits and professional design and tailoringdetail_214_lula_eggpl_250 made this dress gorgeous!

I added my three inch black peep toe pumps and felt sexier, thinner more fashionable then I have felt in a long, long time.  I can not thank Alicia enough for allowing me the honor and privilege of reviewing a Stop Staring design.

My husband walked in when I was trying the dress on and his mouth dropped. He simply said..“Oh, we’re going out with you wearing that!”.  I will be updating the site with pictures after our date night…I can’t wait!

Now...I understand why Alicia named her company “Stop Staring” Ladies, ladies….YOU NEED TO HAVE A STOP STARING DRESS in your closet. It is that simple. With a vast assortment of colors and styles…you will find perfect Cocktail Dresses, Swing Dresses, Formal Dresses and a variety of other styles from the 40’s, 50’s and Vintage looks.

Wearing a dress from Stop Staring is not just “wearing” a dress. It is an experience, a metamorphosis…from a woman into a bombshell! After all, everyone needs to experience being a bombshell, at least once in their lives. Just realize you will be saying “Stop Staring”!

divider3


twitter1

The IE Mommy is always looking for products, companies and sites to review. If you have or know of a company, product or site that could use an IE Mommy review. Email me at theiemommy (at) gmail (dot) com.

**Information obtained from the Stop Staring Press  Kit and/or Website.

~ by iemommy on July 11, 2009.

One Response to “Spotlight on “Stop Staring” (Review)”

  1. I would so love that but I know I am way too big of an old lady to get away with wearing one of those lovely and stylish dresses – dang it!

Comments are closed.

 
