Aloha Friday – Jury Duty

alohafriday Aloha!

Welcome to our fun Aloha Friday Post.

Each week we answer and ask a question. The IE Mommy plays along with An Island Life...so answer our question, post your own and swing by An Island Life to answer their question too! Lots of fun!

I received a summons for Jury Duty. Oh yeah! Which made me think of today’s Aloha Friday question.

Question: When you receive a jury duty summons…Do you call the number or Do you pretend it didn’t arrive?

divider3P.S – After reading so many comments…I felt like I need to clear up the fact that I too, call when I receive a summons.  But it just wouldn’t be a fun question if there wasn’t two opposing options. Thanks to all who are answering. It’s fun to hear your stories about jury duty.

~ by iemommy on July 31, 2009.

17 Responses to “Aloha Friday – Jury Duty”

  1. I would assume one would need to respond.

  2. I don’t think it is smart to pretend that it didn’t arrive. I definitely call the number and do what I’m supposed to do. It’s not the best system for passing judgment. For sure. But I don’t think anyone has come up with a better one.

  3. I have never received one. If I did I would call just because I’ve never done it before.

  4. I think it’s illegal to pretend it didn’t arrive. Thankfully I have only had one summons so far and I called every day until they said I didn’t need to call anymore.

  5. I always call the number. I’m too afraid of what might happen if I don’t. 🙂

  6. I have only received one and I did call .

  7. YEARS ago I blew it off. 🙂

    http://iamharriet.blogspot.com/2009/07/holy-pepsi-rodent.html

  8. I’ve never been LUCKY enough to be summonsed for jury duty. (I know, I’m crazy). So, I think it’s safe to say, I would call the number. (I’m in TN and here the sheriff deputy’s hand deliver them, so there’s not pretending. lol)

  9. I’ve been summoned 3 times. I definitely called the number. I also had to go in 3 times and almost got on a jury. Thankfully, I didn’t because I was teaching at the time and that would not have been fun to coordinate.

  10. Since I am not one that likes spending time in jail, I always reply. I was summoned for jury duty right before my wedding 8 years ago. I was also selected as part of a jury in a court room where I knew the judge personally. He told the court and I was still selected – it floored me. I was summoned again last year and replied that I was the primary care giver for my two children, one I was nursing and could not serve now. They told me to write a letter and in 2-3 years my name would come in again. Works for me.

  11. I always call the number at the time specified.

  12. I call but it sure isn’t because I want to!

  13. Since I just got back from jury duty this afternoon, I obviously answered my summons. Fun times!

  14. I have called the number. I got stuck serving on a jury duty. I have gotten called several times. Only one time did I actually have to listen to a boring case.

  15. I have never been summoned, but if I was I certainly would respond.

  16. i’ve gotten them a couple of times but i always just send the little form back in saying i’m primary caregiver of children not in school 🙂

  17. I call. I’ve never served due to childcare issues, but I do call.

Comments are closed.

 
